October 5, 2022

Robotic Notes

All technology News

The Ember Times – Issue No. 169

3 min read


👋 Emberistas! 🐹

Watch a deep dive on component primitives 📺, and check out the “Rock & Roll with Ember band” interview series 🎸!


Chris Garrett (@pzuraq) and Scott Newcomer (@snewcomer) deep dived into Ember’s component primitives such as the setComponentTemplate, setComponentManagerand precompileTemplate APIs.

Chris walks through the problem of formalizing relationships between the JavaScript component and its Handlebars template. This is done by preprocessing the template via the precompileTemplate API and then establishing that relationship to the JavaScript component using the setComponentTemplate API.

These primitives are actually public so anyone can make a transform or parser to build their own custom template import syntax. This flexibility means we can experiment using these primitives before finalizing the API. We can even iterate on it later on to find the best fit for our ecosystem.

Watch the full video discussion on YouTube!


Balint Erdi (@balinterdi), author of the popular book, Rock & Roll with Ember.js (RaRwE), has started a “Rock & Roll with Ember band” interview series on his blog. We enjoyed reading these interviews about members from the beloved Ember community!

  • 🎤 Stuart Guthrie (@ stuartg99) of Freshwater, New South Wales, Australia talked about his experience since choosing Ember four years ago as the founder of Polonious Pty Ltd. “We selected Emberjs as it was community driven, the community was well led and had a good ‘vibe’, still does.”
  • 🥁 Serguei Cambour (@belgoros) of Belgium talked about using Ember on side projects, having discovered Ember as a framework from his background in Ruby on Rails. The RaRwE book helped with the Ember learning curve, and he uses the Ember Discuss or the relevant channel in the Ember Discord chat to ask questions.
  • 🎹 Ben Borowski (@typeoneerror) of Canada used Ember on his side project, Doki.io. Things he’s jazzed about in the Ember world are code-splitting and the @use RFC, which we discussed in the Ember Times Issue # 168.
  • 🎷 Aad Versteden (@madnificent) of Belgium is the co-founder and CEO of redpencil.io, a consultancy which tries to keep the web an open space. Most of their backend work is semantic.works, which heavily pushes for Ember on the frontend. Aad would like to see the community more involved in ember-animated. He’s also hopeful that Embroider will bring us tree shaking. Check out the full post to read about Aad’s thoughts on the pros and cons of Ember Data.

Find all the interviews here: balinterdi.com/blog.


This week we’d like to thank Brenden Palmer (@brendenpalmer), Tobias Bieniek (@ Turbo87), Isaac Lee (@ ijlee2), Chris Ng (@chrisrng), Amy Lam (@amyrlam), Ricardo Mendes (@locks), Igor Terzic (@igorT), @ jl-cs, Robert Jackson (@rwjblue), Stefan Penner (@stefanpenner), @ shivani2692, Chris Manson (@mansona), Aaron Chambers (@achambers), Nick Schot (@nickschot), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Chris Garrett (@pzuraq), Krishna Patel (@KrishnaRPatel), Joel Bradshaw (@cincodenada), Tomek Nieżurawski (@tniezurawski), Scott Newcomer (@snewcomer), and @ Forhaniel Furniss their contributions to Ember and related repositories! 💖


Office Hours Tomster Mascot

Wondering about something related to Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or addons in the Ember ecosystem, but don’t know where to ask? Readers’ Questions are just for you!

Submit your own short and sweet question under bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And don’t worry, there are no silly questions, we appreciate them all – promise! 🤞

Want to write for the Ember Times? Have a suggestion for next week’s issue? Join us at # support-ember-times on the Ember Community Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Keep on top of what’s been going on in Emberland this week by subscribing to our email newsletter! You can also find our posts on the Ember blog.


That’s another wrap! ✨

Be kind,

Chris Ng, Amy Lam and the Learning Team





Source link