September 28, 2022

Robotic Notes

All technology News

The Ember Times – Issue No. 187

3 min read


👋 Emberistas! 🐹

Release: ember-engines-router-service, ember-scroll-modifier and ember-user-activity updates, and Coding with the Dead on Twitch.


Michael Villander (@villander) released the ember-engines-router-service addon which provides the Router service for ember-engines.

The addon gives you access to the RouterService API inside each engine. This allows you to inject the router service as usual to your component within an engine and use APIs such as transitionTo and even transitionToExternal which help link externalRoutes together.

import Component from '@glimmer/component';
import { inject as service } from '@ember/service';
import { action } from ‘@ember/object’;

export default class SomeComponent extends Component {
  @service router;

  @action
  transitionToHome() {
    this.router.transitionToExternal('other.route');
  }

  @action
  transitionToAdmin() {
    this.router.transitionTo('admin.route');
  }
}

To learn more, try it out today in your application or read the Engine Linking RFC for more documentation.


Jordan Hawker (@ elwayman02) announced updates to two of his add-ons.

ember-scroll-modifiers got a minor update to add an amazing test helper to make it easier to test usage of the scroll-into-view modify in your code.

ember-user-activity got a major update, with the release over version 6.0.0. This version drops support for Ember 3.16 and IE11. Not only does it drop support, but it enables the use in Ember 4.0 🥳!


Studio Remote: Coding with the Dead is a Twitch series from Columbia University Libraries. Moacir P. de Sá Pereira (@muziejus) is your host, live streaming coding in Ember! In the most recent episode, Moacir works on wandertext, an open source app to create and share semantically rich geospatial datasets. The app is currently under heavy development! It’s neat that viewers can follow along with the code, project management via GitHub issues, debugging, spelunking through addons, and more!

Moacir is typically scheduled for Tuesday afternoons at 3pm ET on Twitch. Follow CULStudio on Twitch and check out the schedule to tune in live or async!


This week we’d like to thank Steve Calvert (@scalvert), Chris Carini (@ChrisCarini), Isaac Lee (@ ijlee2), Suchita Doshi (@ suchitadoshi1987), Thomas Wang (@ xg-wang), @ aniketh-deepsource, Ray Cohen (@raycohen), Amy Lam (@amyrlam), Hermione Granger (@hermionethebrightone), Stefan Penner (@stefanpenner), Bj Tecu (@btecu), Kelly Selden (@kellyselden), Giles Thompson (@gilest), Tolulope Oluwadamilare Olusakin (@Oluwadamilareolusakin), Nathaniel Furniss (@nlfurniss), @rajakvk, Harshith Venkatesh (@ harshith-venkatesh), Jen Weber (@jenweber), Bert De Block (@bertdeblock), @Bryan Mishkin (@igorT), Bas Kamer (@basz), Ricardo Mendes (@locks), Anne-Greeth Schot-van Herwijnen (@MinThaMie), Chris Manson (@mansona), Scott Newcomer (@snewcomer), Chris Ng (@chrisrng ), and Katie Gengler (@kategengler) for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! 💖



That’s another wrap! ✨

Be kind,

Anne-Greeth Schot-van Herwijnen, Chris Ng, Amy Lam, and the Learning Team





Source link