September 30, 2022

Robotic Notes

All technology News

The Ember Times – Issue No. 196

2 min read


πŸ‘‹ Emberistas! 🐹 Extended CFP deadline for Ember conf πŸ“’, Ember.js Framework Core Team AMA πŸ™‹β€β™€οΈ, Chris Krycho is added to the Framework Core Team πŸŽ‰, Ember Addon Roundup 🌎, Whiskey, Web and Whatnot with guest Chris Thoburn πŸ”Š, Ember Ignite Reminder πŸ”₯


If you’re still thinking about submitting a talk for Ember Conf you should know that the call for CFP’s has been extended by 48 hours (end of 2/16), so you still have a little more time to get your talk idea submitted. πŸŽ‰

For talk ideas or to get feedback on your talk head on over to #talks or chat more about EmberConf in #emberconf.


If you didn’t get a chance to listen to the live awesome Ember.js Framework Core Team Ask Me Anything (AMA) live stream event hosted by Karl Becker (@karlbecker) and Jen Weber (@jwwweber), don’t worry! You can listen to the recorded session today! πŸ”₯

Ember Core Team members Yehuda Katz (@wycats), Tom Dale (@tomdale), Melanie Sumner (@melsumner), Robert Jackson (@rwjblue), Katie Gengler (@kategengler), Edward Faulkner (@ ef4), Matthew Beale (@ mixonic) and Godfrey Chan (@chancancode) all got together to answer questions submitted to the Ember Times by readers.

It’s an especially insightful peek into what these team members are working on and how they are thinking about the future of Ember.

They talk about Ember Editions, how to get involved, the direction of the framework and more. If you’re interested please go check out the video!

Also look out for additional answers to questions asked during the AMA here in the Ember Times. πŸ’›


Please join us in welcoming the newest framework core team member, Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho)! πŸŽ‰ πŸ‘ πŸŽ‰ Chris has contributed an amazing amount to the framework already and we can’t wait to see what else is in store! πŸ’œ


Ember Addon Roundup 🌎

We’ve had several addons across the Ember ecosystem release updates recently, here’s what you may have missed and reasons to upgrade!

  • NullVoxPopuli (@NullVoxPopuli) has released v4.2.0, v4.3.0, and v4.3.1 of ember-resources which include an @use decorator, and async-data example and a bug fix for useTask;
  • Beto CantΓΊ (@ betocantu93) has released several new versions of ember-eui (elastic’s ui styleguide for ember). The releases include a MarkdownEditor and a MarkdownFormat component, which you can extend to render real ember components from markdown;
  • Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho) has released v5.0.0 of ember-cli-typescript which includes Ember v4 blueprints, requires Node 12+, a fix for addons which supply both .name and .moduleName() and a number of documentation improvements;
  • Simon Ihmig (@simonihmig) has released v5.0.0 of ember-bootstrap which adds official support for Bootstrap 5, keeps BS4 but drops BS3, is fully Ember 4 compatible, drops support for Ember <3.24, node 10 and IE11, many other updates, and some smaller breaking changes;
  • Melanie Sumner (@melsumner) has released v2.3.0 of ember-a11y-refocus which adds support for customizing the definition of a route change;
  • Simon Ihmig (@simonihmig) has released v1.0.0 of tracked-redux after taking over maintainership and the release includes compatibility with Ember 4+, requires Ember 3.24+, makes the library a native v2 addon; and
  • Michal BryxΓ­ (@MichalBryxi) has released v4.0.0 of ember-intl-changeset-validations which includes some upkeep, updated dependencies and drops supportive for node 10.

Robert Wagner (@ rwwagner90) and Chuck Carpenter (@chuckcarpenter) of Ship Shape sit down with Chris Thoburn, AKA Runspired, (@runspired) in their latest Whiskey, Web and Whatnot podcast episode. Runspired elaborates on his initial difficulties in picking up Ember, as well as the discoveries that led him to stick with this framework for the long haul. The trio also discuss the unique benefits of Orbit.js, why Runspired finds JSON: API and GraphQL to be a perfect match, and how Ember data cares about making data cacheable, but not necessarily how that data is structured within the cache.


This is an additional reminder for the Ember Ignite international virtual mini conference scheduled for Wednesday, February 23rd!

We mentioned this conference several issues back, but we’re highlighting the event again as it’s coming up soon.

Tickets are donation-based with a suggested amount of $ 30 USD. Proceeds will go towards creating an open source curriculum for teaching Ember to junior developers and taking a live cohort of 10 junior engineers (with no experience) and teaching them Ember so well, that they’ll go toe-to-toe against mid-level UI engineer candidates. This effort is led by Jai Bhagat.

Register here today!


This week we’d like to thank our Bing Dai (@michaelbdai), Pat O’Callaghan (@patocallaghan), Peter Wagenet (@wagenet), Daniel (@genisd), Ben Demboski (@bendemboski), Jeff Keen (@jkeen) ), Chris Krycho (@chriskrycho), James Herdman (@jherdman), Edward Faulkner (@ ef4), Jessica Justice (@ m1073496), Miguel Andrade (@miguelcobain), Camille TJHOA (@ctjhoa), Jon Johnson (@jrjohnson) , Giles Thompson (@gilest), Jared Galanis (@jaredgalanis), Katie Gengler (@kategengler), Ricardo Mendes (@locks), Sergey Astapov (@SergeAstapov), Scott Newcomer (@snewcomer), Sam Van Campenhout (@Windvis) , Matthew Beale (@mixonic), Bert De Block (@bertdeblock), Chris Thoburn (@runspired), @ webdev0415, Colin Kennedy (@colinfkennedy), Jen Weber (@jenweber), Robert Wagner (@ rwwagner90), Mehul Kar @mehulkar), Asa Kusuma (@asakusuma), Bryan Mishkin (@bmish), Chris Freeman (@cafreeman), and Moacir P. de SΓ‘ Pereira (@muziejus) for their contributions to Ember and related repositories! πŸ’–


Office Hours Tomster Mascot

Wondering about something related to Ember, Ember Data, Glimmer, or addons in the Ember ecosystem, but don’t know where to ask? Readers’ Questions are just for you!

Submit your own short and sweet question under bit.ly/ask-ember-core. And don’t worry, there are no silly questions, we appreciate them all – promise! 🀞

Want to write for the Ember Times? Have a suggestion for next week’s issue? Join us at # support-ember-times on the Ember Community Discord or ping us @embertimes on Twitter.

Keep on top of what’s been going on in Emberland this week by subscribing to our email newsletter! You can also find our posts on the Ember blog. See you in two weeks!


That’s another wrap! ✨

Be kind,

Jared Galanis, Jessica Justice and the Learning Team





Source link